New Music #amlistening #nowplaying

welcome the worms

I don’t know about you guys, but when I’m writing I have to have the right background music. Music does two things for me:

  1. It pumps me up and puts me in a good mood so writing doesn’t feel like a chore (which it can AMIRIGHT).
  2. It puts me in the right frame of mind. Punk character? She needs punk music. Death metal thrasher character? She needs death metal. Hippie chick from the 60s? You see where I’m going with this right?

Anyway, for each novel, and sometimes for each paragraph, I need the right music. I am a huge melophile (lover of music – you’re welcome – that can be your new word of the day), and right now I’m writing a piece that’s super quirky and has a spunky female narrator. Thankfully, NPR anticipated my needs. They’re a really great source of new music if you’re into that sort of thing. A few days ago, as part of their First Listen series, they posted Bleached’s new album, Welcome the Worms.

Katie Presley had this to say of the album: “There is not a moment of self-pity here and, more remarkably, not a moment of judgment. Bleached isn’t ashamed to be young and searching. It may only be a single line in the perfect “Wednesday Night Melody,” but this record’s mantra really could be, “It’s good to feel just a little alive.””

It feels like an anthem for females, for youths, for anyone really. It’s mildly punk, with hints of folk and rock and even a little electronic synth thrown in for good measure. It’s perfect for the collection of essays, poems, and short stories I’m working on, and I hope you all check it out.

http://www.npr.org/player/embed/471586354/471586922

Do your worst. I can take it. *gulps*

